Back to All Events

Vigor and Wisdom

  • Unitarian Society of New Haven 700 Hartford Turnpike Hamden, CT, 06517 United States (map)

For the final concert of the series, The Haven String Quartet will explore two works by the Romantic master Mendelssohn as well as share the stage with several graduating senior Music Haven students for a movement of Mendelssohn’s exuberant Octet, written when the composer was only 16 years old. Mendelssohn’s Quartet in D Major, Op. 44 No. 1, in contrast to the octet, highlights Mendelssohn’s later style; his energetic themes and development, his puckish scherzos and incidental music, and his memorable and poignant lyricism. The concert will also feature Music Haven Resident Violinist Patrick Doane and Andrius Zlabys on Violin Sonata No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 105.

R. Schumann, Violin Sonata No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 105 (1851)
Felix Mendelssohn, String Quartet in D Major, Op. 44, No. 1 (1838)
Felix Mendelssohn, String Octet in E-Flat Major, Op. 20 (1825)

Tickets are $25 ($10 for students and USNH members).
Buy tickets here:

Earlier Event: April 10
Honors Recital