Back to All Events

Vigor and Wisdom: Mendelssohn and Brahms

  • Unitarian Society of New Haven 700 Hartford Turnpike Hamden, CT, 06517 United States (map)

For the final concert of the series, The Haven String Quartet will explore two works by the Romantic masters Brahms and Mendelssohn as well as share the stage with several graduating senior Music Haven students for a movement of Mendelssohn’s exuberant Octet, written when the composer was only 16 years old. Mendelssohn’s Quartet in D Major, Op. 44 No. 1, in contrast to the octet, highlights Mendelssohn’s later style; his energetic themes and development, his puckish scherzos and incidental music, and his memorable and poignant lyricism. The concert will also feature Music Haven Resident Violinist Patrick Doane on Brahms’ Viola Quintet in G Major, Op. 111, a masterwork known for its soaring opening cello melody, orchestral textures, melancholic slow movement, and folk-inspired finale. Though Brahms went on to write several more chamber and piano works, it was the quintet in G Major he intended to be his last. 

Felix Mendelssohn, String Quartet in D Major, Op. 44, No. 1 (1838)
Johannes Brahms, String Quintet in G Major, Op. 111 (1890)
Felix Mendelssohn, String Octet in E-Flat Major, Op. 20 (1825)

Tickets are $25 ($10 for students and USNH members).
Buy tickets here:

Earlier Event: March 30
HSQ and Friends: Piano Masterworks